Sydney for Yes

Sydney for Yes

(Community Recognition Statement, 19 October 23023, Legislative Assembly, NSW Parliament)

Sydney congratulates "Sydney for Yes" for achieving a remarkable result of 70% for YES in the federal electorate of Sydney for the Voice Referendum and convincingly won every polling place. Sydney for Yes was all about building bridges, forging connections and making a difference in the most joyful and uplifting way possible by supporting a First Nations Voice to Parliament.

Sydney for Yes volunteers had conversations in-person, by phone, standing at train stations and markets, going business‑to-business, and home-to-home to get the message out that a voice enshrined in the constitution was sound.

In particularly, I recognise Jacob Cook, David Errington, Rosemary Noonan, Declan Savage, Simon Byrnes, Josh Pallas, Savanna Peake, Luke Pratt, Daniel Kirkwood, Frances Timpano, Phil Boulten, Jo Holder, Bernadette Foley, Chris Young, Maree Bowman and Dennis Foster. I also thank the thousands of Sydneysiders who actively campaigned for YES, Federal Member for Sydney, Tanya Plibersek, the City of Sydney and Lord Mayor Clover Moore for their support.

It is only with people power that change happens and I urge everyone involved in Sydney for Yes to keep building the movement to ensure better lives for First Nations Peoples.

Let's work together to celebrate and protect our great city!